Monday, July 9, 2012

Figuring Out My Living Situation

Good evening!

This weekend was a busy one, but a very successful one as well!

One of the things I have been trying to figure out lately is my living situation for the next year or so while I get adjusted to my new job and get a little more stable with my finances. I have gone back and forth between the following possibilities for quite some time now:

  • stay at home and save money/pay off my loans
  • purchase a condo/small house (the market is fabulous right now)
  • rent an apartment

My original plan was to purchase my own condo. For some reason it just always seemed like a good option for me (I’m not ready for a house yet) and I liked the idea of investing my money in something. I actually toured a couple of condos in the area and even met with a mortgage officer. Unfortunately, I’m technically only considered part time right now and I didn’t qualify for the condo that I wanted. I ended up meeting with the current owners and discussed the possibility of renting with an option to buy (in other words I would rent the condo all winter and then reconsider purchasing it next spring, assuming I had attained full time status by then), but in the end I decided against it.

The more and more I thought about it, the more I realized that I do not feel financially secure enough right now to buy my own place; and I really don’t feel like taking out another massive loans – student loans already have me buried as it is. Plus, the idea of making such a huge commitment really freaked me out, which was a sign that I wasn’t ready. After I decided against the condo, I considered staying at home all winter and saving money, but that plan quickly went out the window. It’s nothing against my parents, but it’s tough moving back in after you’ve lived on your own for four years. I’m pretty sure that anyone who’s moved out and had to move back in (short term or long term) can relate to how I’m feeling.

All in all, getting my own apartment felt like the right thing to do at this point in my life. It won’t be forever, and I’m glad I won’t be tied down with the responsibilities of home ownership and another huge loan.

My parents and Eric were all supportive in my decision, and on Saturday my mom and I spent the day apartment hunting and furniture shopping. I actually found one almost immediately, and I absolutely love it. The complex is amazing – I’m super impressed with the community amenities, the huge clubhouse (with a pool and workout room), and the fact that every unit comes with a dishwasher (!!) and it’s own washer and dryer.

DSC00085

Since I was able to find a place almost immediately, my mom and I actually spent most of our day furniture shopping. No complaints there though, it was fun!

DSC00089

(The couch I picked out)

Side note – my mom is so funny to furniture shop with. She is like a kid in a candy store – every time I turned my head she’d be gone looking at something else Smile.

I ended up finding a ton of stuff at Art Van and between the clearance center and the sales on the main floor, I scored some pretty sweet deals, including no tax and a couple of Amazon gift cards. My purchases included a couch, living room chair, bedroom set, mattress and mattress pad, coffee table/end table (set), and a dining room table and chairs. It sounds like a lot, but I’m starting from square one and I gotta have furniture! My apartment won’t be available until August 18th, but I’m using the extra time as an opportunity to hopefully pay off all of my furniture and save up for my first rent payment, which will include the last bit of August and all of September.

We took a break around one to grab lunch at Oryana.

DSC00094

I ordered the grilled veggie panini and it was fantastic.

DSC00093

It was a fun and successful day! It feels so good knowing where I’m going to be living and I can’t wait to move in to my own place once and for all Smile.


On Saturday evening we went out to eat with the rest of the family, and yesterday I finally got out to enjoy the sun and spent my afternoon on a gorgeous bike ride.

IMAG0941

It was a beautiful ride around the peninsula – and a long one too! I did 36 miles in about 2 hours and 15 minutes. That’s an average pace of 15.6 mph, which is pretty good for me for that distance. At one point I reached a speed of 33 mph going downhill – talk about a crazy rush of adrenaline!

IMAG0943

I felt awesome when I finished, but I pretty much collapsed on the floor when I walked in the door. I’ve been doing short rides lately (around 16-18 miles) and I guess I underestimated how much harder it would be to double the distance like that. Guess I need to incorporate long rides into my schedule more often!


Well, I’m typing this as my mom and I are watching tonight’s episode of The Bachelorette and she’s just about to start the rose ceremony. Better get back to it! Gah, I can’t to see who she picks!

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...